Tompkins Cortland Community College

College News

Peter Voorhees

Public Information Officer
Sports Information Coordinator

607.844.8222, Ext. 4351

Social Media
Stay connected with
Tompkins Cortland

College News

News Release

Tompkins Cortland Student Recognized by International Honor Society

March 30, 2016

Tompkins Cortland Community College student Tannis Mullen has been honored by Phi Theta Kappa, the international honor society for community colleges. Mullen was named a recipient of the Phi Theta Kappa All-New York Academic Award at a ceremony in Albany earlier this month. A total of 77 student from SUNY and CUNY two-year schools were honored.

Mullen lives in Ithaca and has been taking classes part-time at the College since 2013. She is a liberal arts and sciences-general studies major and in 2015 was awarded the President’s Citation, the most prestigious academic achievement recognition at Tompkins Cortland Community College.

Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in higher education, with nearly 1,3000 chapters on college campuses in all fifty states and nine sovereign nations. Members of the All-New York Academic Team were recognized for academic achievements, leadership accomplishments, and engagement in community service.

In announcing the awards, Phi Theta Kappa CEO Lynn Tincher-Ladner said, “Congratulations to the SUNY and CUNY students receiving awards in recognition of their high academic achievement in community college. Phi Theta Kappa is proud to honor these students, who have volunteered countless hours of leadership and service to their respective campuses and surrounding communities.”

SUNY Chancellor Nancy L. Zimpher added, “Each year, Phi Theta Kappa selects community college students from throughout New York State and the nation who have improved their local community in some way. In doing so, PTK also recognizes the immense value of a community college education and the profound impact that our students have on their campuses, in their communities, and on the economy. Congratulations to all of the students honored today in recognition of their outstanding leadership and achievement.”